General Education Committee

The General Education Committee’s (GEC) primary responsibility is to review and make recommendations to the college’s administration and the Board of Trustees relating to its general education program and in accordance with the college’s mission to ensure a high quality education and a learning environment for all who desire to gain knowledge and enrich their lives. The Committee will review the general education curriculum and submit recommendations on academic matters including but not limited to the following:

HCC courses that are included in the general education curriculum;
IDS 2891 Connections;
Computer proficiency requirement;
General education goals and learning outcomes.

Responsibilities of the GEC also include, but are not limited to the list below:
Making reports to the Academic Affairs Committee;
Reviewing and revising the charge of the committee on a regular biennial schedule.
Reviewing the relationship of and receiving reports from the General Education Assessment Committee, the Gordon Rule Committee, and any additional committees convened as part of the mission of the General Education Committee;
Helping to improve the information flow between the administration and the faculty on general education matters.

General Education Committee's By-Laws

General Education Handbook

General Education Proposal Request
General Education Removal Request


February 17, 2015
September 25, 2014

April 25, 2014
November 19, 2013

January 17, 2013
November 16, 2012

January 26, 2012
October 17, 2011

October 21, 2010

Current Membership

Todd Joseph – Co-Chair
Robert Funk - Co-Chair

Cluster 1
Angela Edward-Mangione
Suzanne Lynch

Cluster 2
Christina Acosta
Gregory Thompson

Cluster 3
Tammy Barker
Terry Varvil

Cluster 4
Tonni Bacoat-Jones
Jessica Olney

Cluster 5
Susan Pierce-Amaral
Anthony Sardone

Cluster 6
Paul Bishop
Andrea Vicente

Cluster 8
Laura Lewicki

Cluster 9
Carrie Hall

Cluster 10
Andrew Gold

Cluster 11
Cindy Moore
Mark Sandag (Alternate)

Cluster 12
Eve Perry

Cluster 13
Rafael Fuentes
Angela Mick (Alternate)

Cluster 14
Roxanna Palmer

Administrative Liaisons
Karen Griffin
Brian Mann